Lawan, Kogi gov yet to withdraw from presidential race as APC convention begins

Senate President Ahmed Lawan and Kogi Governor Yahaya Bello have not withdrawn their candidacy for the presidency, Auntyamebo blog reports.

Also, the former Governor of Zamfara state, Senator Ahmed Yerima, has not officially withdrawn from the competition.


This is despite the decision of 10 northern governors and the former governor that all candidates for the north to withdraw from the race.

Auntyamebo blog reported that northern rulers at a meeting last week approved a change of power in the southern part of the country.


Following the ruling, the Governor of Jigawa Province, Abubakar Badaru, withdrew from the presidential race.

The first one starts today.

The party adjourned its special primary primary meeting from Sunday, 29 – Monday, May 30, 2022, to Monday, 6 – Wednesday, June 8, 2022 after the Independent Electoral Commission extended the deadline for submitting lists of political parties.


A member of the APC National Working Committee told our reporter that “we have not yet received their resignation with withdrawal notices.”

The Director, Media and Publicity of the Yahaya Bello Presidential Campaign Organization, Yemi Kolapo, said the decision of the northern rulers was not binding on anyone.

He explained that the governor was committed to the presidency and was confident that he would win.


When asked if the governor had resigned, he said, “How can he resign, and why? You are committed to a cause. You will be the last person to dry and win.

“Only 10 governors are united to determine the fate of the northern region. What about the remaining five rulers? The APC did not split the presidential race. The decision is binding.



3 thoughts on “Lawan, Kogi gov yet to withdraw from presidential race as APC convention begins”

  1. Pingback: sudoku

Leave a Comment